Atletico Madrid crowned La Liga champions

Atletico Madrid crowned La Liga champions

In a dramatic final round, Atletico Madrid clinched La Liga title for the first time since 2014 with veteran striker Luis Suarez scoring the winner in the 58th minute to seal a 2-1 victory over Real Valladolid. Suarez scored for Atletico after Angel Correa had equalized Oscar Plano’s opener for Valladolid in a dramatic second half. They finished two points at La Liga table ahead of its city rival Real Madrid.

“The world is going through a different phase right now so if we can give some joy to people it means so much to us,” said manager Diego Simeone, who won a record eighth title with the club since arriving as coach in 2011. “The first thing that came to me was a smile. I wanted to laugh. I don’t know why. It is joy that is warm inside. Atlético’s 11th league title ended a seven-year dominance by Barcelona and Madrid.

Los Rojiblancos will also compete in the Champions League next season for the ninth consecutive time and will enter the competition seeded for the first time since 2015. This group has a tremendous future now. The club is growing and has done a fabulous job. It is more important than the results,” Simeone added. “I am extremely grateful.” Follow us for more live football match and soccer prediction.

The winning team hero Suárez, who was sold by Barcelona against his wishes last season, was key for Atlético throughout the season. “This has been a hard season for the situation I had to go through, starting the season the way it did, being disrespected (by Barcelona) and having Atlético open its doors to me,” Suárez said. “I will always be thankful to this great club for that.”

While players chanted and celebrated on the field, a number of Atlético fans held their own celebrations outside the José Zorrilla Stadium in Valladolid, with more supporters rejoicing back in Madrid. Police had to intervene to keep some of the fans away. They will receive the LaLiga Santander trophy this weekend at the Estadio Wanda Metropolitano.

However, the winning team have announced that they will not go to either the Madrid City Council Hall or Neptuno to celebrate their first LaLiga Santander trophy since 2013/14 due to the ongoing pandemic. They encouraged their fans to take to the Madrid city center instead, inside their cars and requested them to follow guidelines and health and safety protocols.

Meanwhile, second-placed Real Madrid ended their hopes of lifting back-to-back league trophies for the first time since 2007-08 despite winning 2-1 at home to Europa League finalists Villarreal. We did what we needed to do, and they did what they had to do too,” said Madrid coach Zinedine Zidane “We have to congratulate Atlético. I believe the team that wins the league deserves it.”

Exciting games and big wins as you visit 12BET where exclusive promotions await for you.

Visit 12BET login and join us to claim exclusive benefits and more