Cricket Australia grants NOC to IPL players on Case-by-Case Basis

Cricket Australia grants NOC to IPL players on Case-by-Case Basis

Cricket Australia will allow its Australian players to take part in the upcoming IPL 2021 but will grant No Objection Certificates on a case-by-case basis, according to a recent IPL news report in the Sydney Morning Herald on Wednesday.

Recently, Cricket Australia had postponed their South Africa tour in the wake of a new coronavirus strain in the Rainbow Nation. As per reports, Australian cricketers are currently not guaranteed to feature in the IPL 2021 if it will be hosted in India.

Last season, which was held entirely in the UAE in a bio-secured environment, 19 Australian cricketers participated in the event. 9 of them have been released by their respective franchises ahead of the mini auction scheduled for February 18 and players including the likes of Glenn Maxwell, Aaron Finch Steve Smith are among those who will be up for grabs.

Our latest cricket news: IPL 2021 likely won’t be having Dream11 as title sponsors

“We have, obviously, got precedent on that from the IPL last year. We have got, obviously, the IPL, if you like, (has) proven its bio-security protocols,” CA interim CEO Nick Hockley was quoted stated in Sydney Morning Herald.

“As and when applications are made, we will consider each of those case-by-case, on their merits.”

The players’ agents have though claimed that there won’t be any issue regarding the NOCs unless there are injury concerns since IPL 14 will be held during CA’s official break.

Meanwhile, CA’s decision to call off SA tour has drawn strong response from Cricket South Africa. “This was set to be the longest tour in a bio-secure environment (BSE), comprising a three-match Test series that was scheduled to begin with Australia’s arrival later in the month. So to be informed about the CA decision at the eleventh hour is frustrating,” Graeme Smith, CSA director of cricket, said in a media release.

The development means New Zealand are into the ICC World Test Championship final with three teams – India, England and Australia – still on the run for the remaining spot.

Exciting games and big wins as you visit 12BET where exclusive promotions await for you. Visit 12BET login and join us to claim exclusive benefits and more